New Year, New Savor

So, 2011 did not start off in the best way for me. The one bright spot of it is that my husband took me out to dinner and surprised me with a bouquet of roses and champagne when we returned home. We brought in the new year together amid minimal fanfare. It was simple, yet very nice and intimate.

Then, the sniffles came. And the coughing. AND the body aches. On the morning of January 1st, I woke up feeling terrible. My state was not because of the food that I had eaten the previous night. I had what I dreaded most: influenza.

Out of all of the days that I could have been sick, I did not want to begin the new year in this way. Nevertheless, I have a wonderful husband that took excellent care of me and helped to nurse me back to health. While I did not work for a solid week, I was able to concentrate on where I wanted to take Savor Baking Company in the next year.

In between servings of excellent homemade chicken noodle soup (the recipe follows below), I made three simple goals for 2011.

The first goal was to increase Savor’s online presence. I have made a commitment to post more content on this blog, facebook, as well as be more active on Savor’s Twitter account (follow me at @savorbakingco @savorbaking).

The second goal was to be more visible in the community and at networking events. I will be sure to keep my website and social media outlets updated on where Savor will be for these occasions.

The final goal is to be a better servant to YOU, the customer. I am constantly requesting feedback from my customers and have taken into account all that you have said thus far. Serving my customers is the most exciting part of my job; and, it is why I love doing what I do. I appreciate the faith that you have put into my business thus far.

As always, I give thanks to you for taking this journey with me. Here is to a wonderful new year!

LEXYNE’S CHICKEN NOODLE SOUP

Although chicken soup is quite popular to eat to help combat a cold, it can always be enjoyed any time of the year. My personal recipe is below.

Ingredients

  • 8 cups homemade chicken stock
  • 2-3 lbs of chicken thighs*
  • 3 tbsp of your favorite oil
  • 3-4 cups water or additional chicken stock
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 2 tsp dried thyme
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • salt, pepper to taste
  • couple dashes of cayenne powder (optional)
  • 1 package of frozen stew vegetables
  • 1/2 package of egg noodles

In a large pot bring chicken thighs, stock, oil, and spices to a rolling boil. Cover and reduce heat so that chicken continues to boil in the stock, about an hour. Stir occasionally. Add the vegetables and more water/stock, if necessary. Return to a soft boil and cook for 30 minutes more. Add the egg noodles to the soup and cook for about 8 more minutes. Stir to incorporate noodles evenly. Soup will have thickened slightly. Enjoy!

* Chicken thighs are rich in flavor and perfect for a chicken soup recipe. However, chicken breasts are just as good and provide a healthy alternative.

This entry was posted in Cooking with Savor, Musings, Recipes, Savor Baking Co News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

